All-Female Semi-Staged Concert


Saturday, May 4th 7:30pm
Sunday, May 5th 2:00pm


The Grand Opera House in partnership with the Dubuque Chorale, the Women’s Leadership Network and the girl empowerment group Little Luxuries will present an all-female semi-staged concert production of the musical 1776, book by Peter Stone, music and lyrics by Sherman Edwards. 


The musical’s plot focuses on the Continental Congress in the months leading up to the signing of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776.  Producing the musical with an all-female cast provides the opportunity for women to tell the story of this seminal moment in American History.  The production will be directed by Lenore Howard, Artistic Director of Fly-By Night Productions with musical direction by the Dubuque Chorale’s Artistic Director, Dr. Amanda Huntleigh.


$20 Adults
$12 Under 18

*Tickets available to Season Subscribers Monday, January 28th
Tickets available to the General Public Monday, February 4th


Want to Brush up on the Declaration of Independance? Read the full Declaration Here!


Cast List

John Adams                                          Cindy Caraway

Stephen Hopkins                                   Amy Sampson

Roger Sherman                                     Mary Beth Ferring

Robert Livingston/Trio                           Angela Ventris

Benjamin Franklin                                 Roxanne Rollefson

John Dickinson                                     Mary Bryant

Col. Thomas Mckean                           Katie Mcfarland

Richard Henry Lee                               Whitney Arnold

Thomas Jefferson                                Victoria Schuler

Edward Rutledge                                 Amy Dolan

Abigail Adams                                    Debbie Tancrell

Martha Jefferson                                Mandy Brosius

Courier                                               Grace Paulowski

John Hancock                                    Ruth Assmus

Caesar Rodney                                 Terry Eckhart

Charles Thomson Secretary             Rachel Nadig

 James Wilson                                  Cathe Oberfoell

Samuel Chase                                  Lorrie Etheridge

Dr. Lyman Hall                                  Melissa McGuire                             

Andrew McNair                                 Danielle Phillips

Reverend John Witherspoon           Wendy Wilwert

Joseph Hewes                                 Faith Finn

Dr. Josiah Bartlett                            Terri Jackman

Lewis Morris                                    Carol Baumann

George Read                                   Becky Heil


Funding is provided in part through a Special Projects Grant from the City of Dubuque


Produced in Partnership with: